Past Meets Present at Clandon Park

Today I am taking the challenge set by Becky of It Caught My Eye in Portugal to compare a photograph of the past with a recent one I have taken myself.

I have lived near to Clandon Park for 37 years and although I didn’t particularly admire the appearance of the outside architecture, I always felt at home walking around this National Trust property.  Inside as well as the Marble Entrance Hall, there were beautifully decorated rooms full of enchanting china.

When I first saw the smoke and flames of the house fire which caused so much destruction I was very sad and my more recent photos show that although the shell remains, the roof and much of the interior has been destroyed.  Now the NT are looking for an architect to oversee its rebuilding.  I am looking forward to a hopeful future for the House.

Clandon

 

IMG_0702

IMG_0703

Please visit some of Becky’s #PastMeetsPresent Pages and maybe join in yourself.

4 thoughts on “Past Meets Present at Clandon Park

  1. oh how very very sad . . . I had of course heard about the fire but hadn’t really taken in the extent of the damage. Do hope they can do something . . .

    Thank you though so much for taking part this month, such a great #PastMeetsPresent

    Like

Leave a comment