RSS Feed

#FridayReads ~Reviewing my favourite books from 2016

According to Goodreads, of the 65 books I have read this year, 21 are contemporary stories, 18 historical fiction, 7 crime novels and 5 mysteries. In addition, I chose to read 5 non-fiction history books, 3 steampunk novels, 2 travel books, one young child’s book, one dystopian novel and one of literary fiction. Only one is specifically a romantic novel, but of course romance often turns up in historical novels or mysteries too and definitely in most contemporary stories. There is a lot of blurring at the edges.
The number of books in each category does not surprise me, but perhaps next year I should try self-help, vampire books or maybe return to fantasy or science fiction. I’m not promising!
These are my highlights of the year.

rack-ruin-front-cover-002

Midnight Sky Cover LARGE EBOOK

devil-you-know

Rusty

AB Bamboo Island

Lake House

I could list more, but I will stop with these chosen few from my favourite genres; historical, contemporary and mystery.  If you click on a book cover it will link you to my review of that book.

About lizannelloyd

Love history, reading, researching and writing. Articles published in My Family History and other genealogy magazines.

7 responses »

  1. Thank you so very much, Liz. Out of 65, to feature in this list, is wonderful. You’ve just made my day! xx

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  2. What a wonderful surprise to find my book on your list, Liz. Thank you so much. I’m honoured!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Reblogged this on cicampbellblog and commented:
    What a wonderful surprise to find one of my books on a reviewer’s list of her favourite books from 2016! And in such great company! Thank you Lizannelloyd Lloyd. I feel honoured, and I’m delighted.

    Like

    Reply
  4. So many books, so many things to do! Thanks for your company and the tweets 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

