Beautiful Books

I am so pleased that my parents were such squirrels.  Among the many books that I just had to give to charity when my mother died were some real treasures which are now in my bookcase.

As a child I loved Little Women by Louisa M Alcott so I was delighted to find this copy of Little Women married given to my grandmother by her mother in 1898.

 Li Women married01062015

This exotic cover contains much less exciting text such as, “The African Baobub or monkey-bread tree may justly be called the elephant of the vegetable world.”  This was a school prize in 1895.

Tropical01062015

I had already been given Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass when I was young so they are well loved and very battered.  Grandma was given them by her sister in 1894.

 Looking01062015

I had read Coral Island by R M Ballantine many years ago so I thought I might enjoy Martin Rattler.  I have nearly finished it but I’m afraid it is not inspiring.

 Rattler01062015

And then there are 16 volumes of poetry in a variety of colours published by George Routledge and Sons which I used to enjoy dipping into.

Spenserspine01062015

I will end with a strange book which I vividly remember reading in school, The Water Babies by Charles Kingsley  Although it was supposed to fill us with horror and sympathy for the poor chimney boys my clearest memory is of the lovely MRS. DOASYOUWOULDBEDONEBY.

Water Babies01062015

6 thoughts on “Beautiful Books

Leave a Reply

