Friday Five Challenge

Rosie Amber’s Friday Five Challenge is this….. IN ONLY FIVE MINUTES….

1) Go to any online book supplier,

2) Randomly choose a category,

3) Speed through the book covers, choose one which has instantly appealed to your eye,

4) Read the book Bio/ Description for this book, and any other details.

5) If there are reviews, check out a couple,

6) Make an instant decision, would you BUY or PASS?

This week I decided to look at books for children aged 9 to 11 as this is the age group I most enjoyed buying for when I ran a school Library.  At first I was quite disappointed as there seemed to be nothing new.  Roald Dahl, David Walliams, Wimpy Kid & Jacqueline Wilson still predominate. Then this one caught my eye.

Murder unladylike

Although I think the cover might seem too childlike to the average 10 year old, it’s bold and intriguing.  It’s definitely a girls’ book which I don’t totally approve of.  Most girls would much rather read Anthony Horowitz “Stormbreaker” spy books or the Percy Jackson Roman detective series.

The book is described as an old fashioned school story first published last year.  It is 1930 and two schoolgirl detectives  Daisy Wells and Hazel Wong discover the body of their Science teacher in the gym but then the body disappears.  The Financial Times criic says, “The novel works both as an affectionate satire and an effective murder mystery.”

The reviews are mainly 5 star with a few 4 star & 3 star comments.  Most reviewers like the characterisation of the girls and their teachers’ relationships and it obviously really appeals to adults too.

At £3.32 for a kindle and £3.49 for a paperback I would definitely choose the latter.  I won’t purchase it now but I might choose it for my grand-daughter at some point (and read it first myself!)

You can read Rosie’s choice for this week here

2 thoughts on “Friday Five Challenge

  1. I always question if children want to read trendy, modern books or are happy with those written about the past, I’ve rarely come across a child who at that threshold age reads books from a previous generation and doesn’t roll their eyes at the suggestion. Don’t get me wrong there are children who do read them, but are they in the majority? Is this a book an adult would buy for a child or one a child would clamour for?
    I’m not sure if murder for 10 years olds fits the bill either, I think I’d pass on this book, but glad you brought it to my attention.

    Like

    • I had many pupils who read Agatha Christie and the Chalet School books so I expect they’d love this as a relaxing read but there are much better books such as The Amber Spyglass or The Windsinger which i’d prefer them to read!
      I am sure the cover is meant to appeal to an adult looking for a girls book.

      Like

Leave a Reply

