Friday Five Challenge

Rosie's Book Review team 1

Rosie Amber has set a really intriguing challenge which tests out the importance (or not) of an eye-catching or appealing cover

 The Friday Five Challenge

My Friday Five Challenge is this….. IN ONLY FIVE MINUTES….

1) Go to any online book supplier,

2) Randomly choose a category,

3) Speed through the book covers, choose one which has instantly appealed to your eye,

4) Read the book Bio/ Description for this book, and any other details.

5) If there are reviews, check out a couple,

6) Make an instant decision, would you BUY or PASS?

I accepted the challenge and searched in the History section of Amazon.co.uk.  I ignored the suggested titles but scanned the general list.  Many books from the History section seem to have very uninviting covers even though I would probably enjoy the content.  Eventually I was tempted by this picture

Deryn Lake

The Tudor style dress with its pattern picked out as border motif drew me in, but I was glad that the lady’s face was not shown.  I like to imagine the characters from the author’s description.  I was a little suspicious as covers of this type are often used for rather light-weight historical romances so would the content be realistic?

The book’s description begins well, “A time of intrigue and chaos, with a country ruled by a cruel and determined monarch,” and cleverly mentions four Seymour children of Wolff Hall.  The price of £2.99 is acceptable.

There are only 3 reviews with an average four and a half stars.  One mentions that, “The author weaves fact and fiction together with magic,” which sounds inviting but I would not usually choose any ebook without a “Look Inside” at the text so that is what I did.  Well written prose sets the scene of Henry VIII’s first interest in Jane Seymour which is appealing.  However I have never heard of Deryn Lake, so I took a quick look at Goodreads where I discovered the author had written many other books.  I think I cheated on the five minute rule and took about 8 minutes!

Overall I have decided to put this book on my wish list although I may choose another of her books to try first.  Thank you Rosie for suggesting a new way for looking at unknown books!

2 thoughts on “Friday Five Challenge

  1. Lovely Liz! I too think the cover is inviting, puts you right in the Tudor mind. Just 3 reviews may be family and friends, but may also be die-hard fans, a good idea to “look Inside” the book, something I rarely do. Thanks for taking up the challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m a bit ‘over’ every historical novel having a headless woman on it (no, publishers, we AREN’T all fooled into thinking they’re by Phillipa Gregory!) but this has interested me now, too! Except that it might make me cross because I never liked the ambitious Seymours…. though I know this is not the point of the Friday Five Challenge, ha ha! But without your assessment, I would have thought, oh, another one….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

